Is there a Ruderalis taste? And if there is, do you think it still exists in todays best auto genetics?

Is there a distinct taste in autoflowering plants, due to the ruderalis genetics within it?

• There is a distinct ruderalis taste

• There is no impact on flavour

• Never noticed or heard of this

Results are only viewable after voting.

Aussie Autos

Autoflower Ambassador
Reaction score
Website
www.instagram.com
I’ve heard this argument, mostly from old head photo growers, that Autoflowners will always have a distinct taste. I’ve also heard this taste is heavily tied to the auto flowering genetic trait, and will always exist. I’ve also heard on various podcasts that its simply not true.

I’m sure heirloom and native ruderalis species would have very distinct flavours. However I don’t feel like its a real discussion in todays modern autoflower gene pool. What is everyone’s experiences and understanding of this? Im extremely new to autoflowers and growing, I can’t say this is anything I’ve ever noticed before though.

This is an interesting question. I'd guess it would change depending on where in the world it's from. I don't see a trend in taste with modern autos at all. Even to the point where it's kinda rare to get 2 of the same tasting plants in the same seed pack. Maybe @Mossy can shed a little light on the originals?

This is an interesting question. I'd guess it would change depending on where in the world it's from. I don't see a trend in taste with modern autos at all. Even to the point where it's kinda rare to get 2 of the same tasting plants in the same seed pack. Maybe @Mossy can shed a little light on the originals?
My thoughts exactly. And tbh the people that are often saying it, are often surprised by the quality of modern autos

Last edited: