RO/Filter System Slowing Down (But Water Has Low PPM); Get new unit/filters or just ignore?

BII

Reaction score
A general question about RO/filter systems: Is it time to change filters or get a new unit when the filtration rate starts to slow down (enough to be noticeable), but it's still putting out low ppm water?

For ex., using a standard small (50-75 gpd) 4-stage, including RO and DI, set of filters I'm getting water at about 20 ppm. I presume that starting with perfectly good tap water at 180 and getting to 20 ppm is obviously good water. But Is there a problem that needs tending to if not getting to near zero ppm? [I presume not].

Am I correct that for our interests it's all about the ppm/low salts; that it doesn't matter what the other (1 or both solids) filters are doing or not doing?

Change the filters… I used to be a water filtration technician. For drinking purposes yearly service and sanitizing of the unit was recommended but biannual would be fine in this case. If you’re seeing a reduction in production there could be a few reasons. Replacing the pre filters would be wise as the membrane that is making the RO needs a steady pressure to force both product water through and expel the waste water, so if the prefilters are slowing the feed they may be making the membrane work less efficiently.
Other components to check are
1. waste water reducer(should limit waste water to a slow trickle to enable pressure build up). This could be clogged thus not allowing waste to escape then it builds in the membrane slowing production until it eventually stops or waste bleeds to product. Find the waste line and confirm it is flowing and seems like a restricted flow
2. Check valve on the product water post membrane. As product water is produced it goes through a check valve, you will need to unscrew this and check it’s functionality