Does the VA test for THC?

Reaction score
Currently Smoking
White Widow, Mazar, Northern Lights, Blue Dream
I'm a vet and just enrolled in the VA Healthcare system due to financial necessity. The doctor I am assigned to met with me and asked a long list of health related questions including do you use illegal drugs including marijuana...to which I answered no. I have been using MJ lately to help anxiety, but felt I shouldn't disclose this fact.

I am scheduled in 2 weeks for a blood panel workup so they can evaluate my general health and establish a baseline. My fear is the VA will do a THC screening, so is this something that may be done in the blood profile?

I'm a vet and just enrolled in the VA Healthcare system due to financial necessity. The doctor I am assigned to met with me and asked a long list of health related questions including do you use illegal drugs including marijuana...to which I answered no. I have been using MJ lately to help anxiety, but felt I shouldn't disclose this fact.

I am scheduled in 2 weeks for a blood panel workup so they can evaluate my general health and establish a baseline. My fear is the VA will do a THC screening, so is this something that may be done in the blood profile?
Yes...the VA may drug test you, especially if you are prescribed opiates. That being said, I'm completely honest about my canna use (I use canna for everything...pain, sleeping, depression, ptsd etc) and my Doc doesn't say anything, or drug test me. The VA is well aware that a lot of vets use cannabis, and honestly...there isn't much they can do, aside from with hold opiate meds.

That does not mean you won't get some type of label in your record from your Doc. Mine says "cannabis use disorder" :crying::crying: Thats all it is, just a label. Hope it helps.

Have they rolled back Vets signing that they will only use what the VA prescribes?