Extraction How does rosin compare to other concentrates?

Rosins vs. Concentrates: Comparisons?

BII

Reaction score
I am starting to become interested in getting a rosin press. But I have no exposure or experience at all with rosin - never tried or even seen it; while I do have experience with the legal/dispensary shatter, budder, oil, etc. organic solvent extracted and distillate concentrate products. Some questions:

1) How does pressed rosin compare to the usual solvent extracted concentrates in terms of potency? THC/THCa levels? Other cannabinoids and terpenes?
2) With rosin undergoing no purification, to what extent is rosin consumption degraded by the presence of a good amount of chlorophyll, cell proteins, nutrients, etc. that I presume remain?
3) Local dispensaries are now pushing 'live' concentrates prepared (by usual solvent extraction) from fresh frozen buds. How does rosin compare to this?
4) How do the effects of rosin (say from the same buds) compare to the solvent extracted concentrates and the source buds? Which do you consider better?
5) How chemically/physically stable is rosin? Must/should it be consumed fresh -- immediately, same day, week, month?

Thank you.

CannabisMingus

good questions - well thought out and helpful to others
fireworks1.gif

1. :yeahthat:

2. It is not degraded it is pure! - well as pure as the bud you press.

3. Dabs get me as high as I can get. You really just need to try it Dabs.png.

4. Solvent extracts strip most terpenes. (not to mention leave behind some extra ingredients) Rosin is whole plant extract. It is all there.

5. I don't know I seem to use it all up before anything changes. You can put it in the freezer.

Did I mention it gets you high............. :rofl: In fact I am now with some Panama Red.

View attachment 1353401

1. :yeahthat:

3. Dabs get me as high as I can get. You really just need to try it View attachment 1353407.