Need soil recommendations

Reaction score
Complete newbie here. I just ordered white widow autoflower seeds and need advice on potting soil for growing outdoors in 5 gallon pots. Do I need to buy the expensive stuff or can I go with an organic mix from a garden center.

Attachments

• fox farm.jpg
    fox farm.jpg
    52.2 KB · Views: 7
  • miracle grow.png
    miracle grow.png
    496.1 KB · Views: 11
I’m on the same boat I’ve postponed my grow due to me being confused on this topic and when I ask on the live chat it seems to get me even more confused most people are using live soil but from the little that I’ve read and heard you do not use certain nutrients in live soils so it set me back to square one what if I want to use nutrients? Is there a certain type of soil I should go for and apparently certain soils come to hot so you have to Cook them which puts more time on postponing the grow... maybe I’m just overthinking plus mixing your own soil is even more confusing due to certain places and the pesticides they use for the feed of the animals such as cows and horses... i will definitely be following this post! Hopefully I get a little more of a clearer picture!

Dont get your head too wrapped up in the advanced stuff on growing weed, my advice would be - experiment, the best knowledge comes from mistakes.
My second advice is go to home depot, look for some soil that is organic, prefferably has some peat or peat moss in it, also vermiculite/biohummus is a big plus, make sure it has no clay, sand is fine! Grab some perlite, mix in about 20% (read up on mixing it in and the proper ratios).
As for soil being too hot, im pretty sure that organic soils should never be too hot, this only applies to soils that have a lot of fertilizers mixed in. If youre still scared of starting it in too hot of a soil, start it in a solo cup with just some simple home depot planting soil and then transplant into the final container which has the desired soil in it.