New Grower Perlite germination technique.

lazylathe

AFN Borg
Reaction score
***This is NOT my technique!! I found it on 420 Magazine. All credit to original owners!*****

I have been growing on and off for many years now and always used the paper towel method with varying success rates.
Seeds can be very expensive and messing up the germination can be heart breaking.
Think of all the air surrounding the seed while held in perfectly moist perlite as opposed to between 2 wet sheets of paper towel in a closed bag. It was this that made me think of germination in a different way!

My last grow was Mephisto genetics and the paper towel method worked pretty well.
Recently I tried to germinate older seeds from great seed banks in paper towel and all failed. I was not a happy camper to say the least!
After a lot of research I stumbled on this technique and decided to give it a try with some newer seeds.
All 5 germinated without any issues in 3 days! The genetics are unknown to me and 2 germinated without any side roots, not a good sign but they are still workable. They will just be very slow growers.
I have started 2 more to replace the slow ones and both those seeds germinated in 3 days!

Materials:
Red Solo cups
Clear Solo cups
Perlite
Drill or sharp knife.
RO water
Kelp meal (I use a Kelp Tonic)

1- Cut a hole 2 inches from the base of the Red Solo cup. This is also a good time to label the cups with strain name and date.
20191123-162858.jpg

2- Fill each cup with perlite to about an inch from the rim of the cup
3- Mix up your RO water and Kelp meal or Kelp tonic according to directions.
4- Place some duct tape over the holes and fill the cups with your kelp water and allow to sit for a few hours to soak.
5- Once the time has elapsed, remove the tape and allow to drain. Leave them to sit for a further 20 minutes.
6- THE FUN PART!!! Choose your seeds!
7- Poke a small hole and drop the seed in and cover with perlite.
8- Add clear Solo cup to act as a humidity dome>