Photography Guide: Killer camera setup as cheap as possible

CannaDaTaBiz

Welcome to the CannaZone
Reaction score
Hi all,

I have been photographing for quite many years and it used to be my #1 hobby, so i have looked quite a bit into gear etc whats best value and where new cameras and lenses are good at and where old can give just as good results and all that. So i thought id share some tips for those new to photography gear, but are interested in investing into taking pics of plants.

Im not going to go into exact models of cameras or lenses, because thats not the important thing. Important things are certain specs and you can find many cameras and lenses that cover those needs, i will explain the requirements and you can google if some particular cheap camera or lens you see at ebay or where ever local used markets, meets the criteria or not.

It makes no sense for me to say the #1 lens and camera, because there is no such thing. What you find at your used markets varies. Especially with old lenses there are tons of them around, some good and some not. Usually google will help to tell you if they are good or not. If google doesent say anything about it, its likely crap that no one even wants to talk about. So dont buy stuff like that.

So the rule #1 is that you do not buy a new camera or a new lens, neither you will buy the latest model used. If you want a great all around camera then go ahead and spend thousands on it, but its not needed if you just take pics of your garden with a flash. Trust me, it makes no difference if you have a new camera that costs 3k or the 15 years older model that costs 300€ used. That is IF you have strong enough flash and right lens, i will get back to this later.

There are many different brands of lenses that are good, some brands you maybe never even heard of and they made the best lenses some decades ago.