A discussion about CBD and Auto flowers! Let's talk about it!

Proph

Regenerative Organic Grower
Staff member
AFN Global Moderator
Cultivators Club
Reaction score
Hello to whoever is reading this! I wasn't sure where to post/start this discussion and figured this would be the best spot for it. I'd like to start a real, wide open conversation about CBD and auto flowers, and whether or not they are a money making gimmick, or if they have true potential.

I've been growing photoperiods for several years, and have a few high CBD cuts. Now, I'm not just saying that I have high CBD cuts based on the name of the strain. I've actually sent samples of to be tested to confirm/validate their CBD ratios. Even with photo period plants there is no guarantee. I've sent 2 sister plants off for testing together. Only one came back with measurable levels of cbd.

Sooo. For this example, let's say we have a few CBD auto flower seeds from a well known auto breeder. Something like ac/dc x gorilla glue auto (I just made that up). We know the auto seeds have the CBD gene from the parent. But at what actual ratio (if any) and what actual percentage? In the photoperiod world, we can take a cut of our CBD plants, have them tested, and keep the plants rich in CBD. With autos and CBD it seems to be a crap shoot. There is no guarantee that any of the auto flower seeds will have any testable levels of CBD. And, for the sake of discussion, let's say you found a nice CBD auto.. You send samples off to get tested and find out the plant has a 5:1 CBD to thc ratio and is hitting 12-15% CBD. So now what? You can't clone that plant to regrow it.. And popping more seeds puts you back at square one. Regardless of whether the plant is photo or auto, the ONLY way to know if you have a (high level) CBD strain, is through testing.