Grow Mediums Autopots & Fungus Gnats

kushedy

Auto Warrior
Reaction score
I’ve been running autopots now for a couple of years with coco coir & in general I am fairly happy with them aside from the fact they seem to be prone to fungus gnats, in my experience at least.

I am just doing battle with the little bastards again now. I actually ran one of my grow tents drip to waste this time & that is gnat free. The autopot tent however is gnat central.

In the autopots defence I have been a little slack & not implemented preventative measures.

Do any of you suffer from fungus gnats regularly? Any tips for low cost preventatives?

I have had them too with autopots. But can't say it was because of them. I don't have enough experience with them to say its a problem with autopots. That tray of water might contribute to it.

What I would do to exterminate them now is get some mosquito dunks and grind them up and mix in water. I don't know what ratio. I just winged it. I top watered that solution in to the plants. Also you could take something like 1/8 of a dunk and put it in the autopot tray in the section with the valve. These things are often floated in ponds to kill mosquitios so I figured floating in the tray can't hurt and should help. This should kill the larvae.

But you still need to break the cycle. Then I would get play sand and put a 1/4inch layer on top of each pot. The adults won't be able to get thru the sand and lay more eggs. So that breaks the cycle.

Those two things should get them. Maybe get some of those sticky strips too.