Wanting to reuse my soil

BirDMan420

Welcome to the CannaZone
Reaction score
Okay my friends, I want to re use my coast of Maine soil. I’d hate to assume the process because I’ve never done it before but I do in fact have the means of doing it and have done extensive research. But I have Gaia greens 4-4-4 and 2-8-4. I have some dolomite lime, and I do have all the ingredients for a super soil recipe to use at my will so whatever is needed I do have. But I would like some more knowledge from you guys here before my grow ends and I re amend this soil

I don't reuse my soil, but some do amend and reuse it. I don't feel confidant enough to do that without testing.

If you are using soil, it has what is called cation exchange capacity (CEC). This allows positively charge ions (many nutrients are taken up by the plant as positively charged ions, like potassium, calcium, magnesium, iron, manganese, copper, zinc, and others). to be held by the soil, sort of in reserve. It is released slowly to the plants. It doesn't easily wash out.

You also end up with different nutrients reacting with each other, forming compounds of low solubility, which also don't easily wash out of soil. These can become available to plants at unknown rates, so when you are feeding on a regular schedule, you won't know how much is also being released by these leftover compounds.

The closest I've come to reusing soil is to reveg, and reflower photo strains.

I don't reuse my soil, but some do amend and reuse it. I don't feel confidant enough to do that without testing.

If you are using soil, it has what is called cation exchange capacity (CEC). This allows positively charge ions (many nutrients are taken up by the plant as positively charged ions, like potassium, calcium, magnesium, iron, manganese, copper, zinc, and others). to be held by the soil, sort of in reserve. It is released slowly to the plants. It doesn't easily wash out.