Fanboy Builds a Greenhouse

Ground Prep and Framing

Pigskin Fanboy

Cultivators Club
Reaction score
Currently Smoking
Non Smoker
As some of you may already know, we decided to attempt building a small greenhouse in our backyard.

:woohoo:
I wanted to share that process and hopefully give others ideas and get feedback as I start working on setting up the ventilation system, interior shelving, a rainwater collection system and a Solar powered fan system.
This idea started kicking around up in the old melon on May 23rd and I started drawing out designs and watching a ton of YouTube videos for ideas.
The original plan was for a 2”x4” frame - 4’x8’ Lean-To style but as soon as we got the framing up, I realized I would not be happy with that space (I’m a BIG feller LOL). I make do in my 4x8 tent but it’s cramped.
After talking to the “Boss”, she agreed and we decided to extend the front wall by 2 foot. :woohoo1:

So the final dimensions are basically 8’ long by 6’ wide. The back wall near the house is 8’ tall and the front wall is 5’6” tall.
DF14D9A9-3982-4F8A-B86E-20B053BD9780.jpeg

The first step was trying to level the ground with a slight slope away from the house foundation. As you can see it was always in the opposite direction and water was heading right to the house foundation and this has needed to be fixed for a very long time.
This ground is mostly clay and rocks and is extremely hard to dig.
We “Broke Ground” on June 2nd, using a small DR tiller we outlined the area. Could have used a bigger/stronger tiller for sure !! :coffee2:
6ACE00CB-EDA3-4CEC-99BB-E94E473C9471.jpeg

It seemed to take forever and we really put that little tiller through the wringer. Once the ground was broken up it started raining, so we had a really nasty mud/clay type situation to deal with, added in a bunch of sand and soil and tilled it all in well.
41FB114D-2003-4684-840C-2A55C399ED4F.jpeg

A9F180E0-2C64-48F4-811D-5C90935E7A50.jpeg