Full Spectrum LED vs. Wide Red Band LED

signaldistress

New User
Reaction score
Hey Folks, newbie here. Recently bought a kit through a local retailer (Richmond, VA) made by Highdrogro. Comes with an LED set up with two different types of bulbs, Full Spectrum, and Wide Red Band. Been trying to do some research on when to use either or both at the same time and I've got some conflicting info. As far as I can tell, the research shows to use the full spectrum LEDs during the sprouting and vegetative states, then the red band during the flowering stage. Also seeing that there may be some benefit of using the red band lights at the end of the daily light cycle for 10 or 15 minutes.

Figured I'd come here and ask the hive mind of veteran auto growers if they have any opinions here.

Hey Folks, newbie here. Recently bought a kit through a local retailer (Richmond, VA) made by Highdrogro. Comes with an LED set up with two different types of bulbs, Full Spectrum, and Wide Red Band. Been trying to do some research on when to use either or both at the same time and I've got some conflicting info. As far as I can tell, the research shows to use the full spectrum LEDs during the sprouting and vegetative states, then the red band during the flowering stage. Also seeing that there may be some benefit of using the red band lights at the end of the daily light cycle for 10 or 15 minutes.

Figured I'd come here and ask the hive mind of veteran auto growers if they have any opinions here.
FWIW, it is my impression that the red light will mostly affect plant growth form rather than other things like potency etc. For sure, it can have a huge influence on growth form. My plants under my diy array have, so far, remained very short and bushy because I have used too much blue in the early veg stage. Next grow, I will shift to mostly 2700k bulbs until I get the stretch that I want before going back to more 5500K bulbs.