Phonic Trap Ducting (Acoustic) - few q’s

MrAutoGrower

Learning as I grow
Cultivators Club
Reaction score
Currently Smoking
3Wok OG
I’ve ordered myself some phonic trap ducting and attached it to a 5” mixed flow rhino extracter.

I have yet to test noise dB but it still seems a bit noisy so far.

Right now I have my rhino filter attached directly to the fan using a fast clamp. I’m assuming this may generate more noise. Wondering if I should cut some ducting and connect the ducting to the filter then fan instead of using a fast clamp.

Has anyone set this ducting up before? Just want to make sure I’m doing everything right as I’ve never worked with this ducting before.

Not too much info on the trap ducting. I’ve wAtched two videos on YouTube but don’t explain too much.

Hey Mr, I use PhonicTrap - I have to say air movement is a noisy business :rofl:
I have my Filter directly on the fan then fan to ducting using clamps so same as you - in the end it still makes noise but it is for sure quieter then any regular ducting I have tried

Hey Mr, I use PhonicTrap - I have to say air movement is a noisy business :rofl:
I have my Filter directly on the fan then fan to ducting using clamps so same as you - in the end it still makes noise but it is for sure quieter then any regular ducting I have tried

What I’ve done so far is just connect some trap ducting to carbon filter, then to fan with fast clamp. It seems to have reduced the noise quite a bit. But I haven’t finished my setup just yet. So I am yet to attach the other end of the ducting to the fan and a vent. From there I’m hoping the noise will continue to drop

oh for sure, if any of it is open the noise will still be pretty high, if you are venting outside that's the best for noise, I cant do that so I have a silencer on the end of my ducting which just finishes it all off nicely