Soil ph tester

A

Auto-snooch

Just got a bag of biobizz light mix (6.1 ph on the bag i think, it's away from my house at the moment) and tested with this soil ph probe... It's reading about 7.2! Are these things a bit rubbish? ImageUploadedByTapatalk1312404694.800735.jpg

What is the best way to ph test soil accurately? I have seen auto calibrating digital meters but I just don't have another 80 notes for a couple of weeks yet. Sorry to be finicky but I'm trying to spend extra time on preparation and I want everything to be as good as it can be before I sow the seeds

Hey man,I'm also using biobizz products,iv got there all mix and iv found it ok..I'm new to growing and when I started I was using water that I'd not ph'd,I bought one of those testers the same as yrs and it gave a different reading everytime..so I bought a digital one,it only reads in 0.5 accuracy but my soil always flashes between 6.5 & 7.0 so it's some were between that at about 6.7 ish..:toke: also iv found leaving it in the soil for a little while to get a better reading..hope this helps mate,heres the one I use http://item.mobileweb.ebay.com/viewitem?itemId=330581075817&index=5&nav=SEARCH&nid=95408022020 i got it cheaper 2nd hand tho,it tests ph,moisture,light and temp

Last edited:
Last edited:
Lol so I'm just gonna have to bite the bullet and get the tester then. I have ordered an led ph wand to sort my water out so hopefully I should be okay for a couple of weeks.