When looking at PPFD and DLI for autos

SHRED

"Onward through the fog!" - Oat Willie
Reaction score
As I look at LEDs I am wondering if autoflowers need quite the same intensity of light as photos considering DLI?

I run my autos at 21/3.

I'm still learning all this but any advice is appreciated.

In my experience autos do require slightly less PPFD since you're hitting them with more light throughout the day (DLI). Keep in mind, this is cultivar dependent and if you use CO2, PPFD can be increased further. Personally, I ramp up slowly so by mid-flower, I'm at 700-1000 PPFD w/out CO2. Just keep an eye on them and if you notice light stress, cut PPFD back by 100. :peace:

Edit: One other thing to keep in mind is LED light dissipates faster the further the light is from the canopy. So if you want more penetration the light has to be closer or be higher powered. I recommend for a 2x4, True 300w fixtures are perfect and for a 5x5 anything over 700w.

Last edited:
In my experience autos do require slightly less PPFD since you're hitting them with more light throughout the day (DLI). Keep in mind, this is cultivar dependant and if you use CO2, PPFD can be increased further. Personally, I ramp up slowly so by mid-flower, I'm at 700-1000 PPFD w/out CO2. Just keep an eye on them and if you notice light stress, cut PPFD back by 100. :peace:

Edit: One other thing to keep in mind is LED light dissapates faster the further the light is from the canopy. So if you want more penetration the light has to be closer or be higher powered.
I tested my Viparspectra KS3000 at about 12" using a UNI-T and the PPFD Meter app.
The plants seem fine.

Not sure how accurate this is though.
20221211_120737.jpg
Screenshot_20221211_120711_PPFD Meter.jpg
20221210_194632.jpg

Seems like the perfect spot to me! I use the same light meter and app too. No more guessing!

Seems like the perfect spot to me! I use the same light meter and app too. No more guessing!
Thanks.