Germination - what is the next step toward success?

garybo

Auto Warrior
Reaction score
Good day and hi to all. I'm a newbie to auto growing and this forum.

I've a few questions about auto's that perhaps one of you farmers can assist me on. My last 2 auto grows have turned out having a pitifully small harvest, but the smoke was both great tasting and effective. I'm OK with this since they were experimental grows.

So, a little about my garden. I been growing photo's for several years outdoor in fabric pots, 5 and 10 gallon ones, we are located in south Alabama where the sun is warm and plentiful. The medium I'll be growing in is top soil with vermiculite and perlite as additives; same soil I grow photo's in. By the way, this year will probably be my last for growing photo's.

Now, my questions;
* Using fabric pots, what is the ideal size to use for outdoor.?
* This next question pertains to seed germination. Using the wet paper tower method, I've got the part of getting the taproot to emerge from the seed down pat. Now what do I do next, put the seed/taproot in something like a jiffy pod, or just put the enfant directly into potting soil, such as a small biodegradable pot and later transferred to its permanent home?
* Once the seedling is placed into its temporary home, should I put it under a grow light for a while before going into the direct sunlight, or put the seedling directly into the daytime sun? Typically our weather is warm with ample sun.
* I try to top photo's at the 3rd node, at which node can I top an auto and how many times afterward?

Thanks in advance folks and I'll probably be asking further questions, keep safe.
garybo

Hey @garybo :toke:

First of all...:welcome: to AFN brother!! Loads of information to be found and lot's of people willing to help a hand. :d5:

Using fabric pots, what is the ideal size to use for outdoor.?