marilyn monGROW

Auto Warrior
Reaction score
alright! our son turned 18 and moved across the country and i was thinking of turning his bedroom into a craft room or maybe leave it a guest room, but what do i REALLY want? large amounts of homegrown!

i'm BRAND NEW to growing. i mean, i grow some garden veggies out back but i'm not known for my amazing green thumb, so this is really going to be an experiment and i'd be SO thankful for any help. what i lack in growing skills, i more than make up for in my ability to follow instructions.

also, because i'm new and because i've chosen to start with autos, i'm not really in a position to shell out a lot of dough to make this first round happen. i expect i'll make a lot of mistakes, but if i can get through this first harvest i KNOW i'll be able to do it again and again. and i'd certainly be more willing to invest at that point.

okay, the nitty gritty.
i'm germinating four seeds in rapid rooter:

Short and Sweet Auto
Pickled Diesel Auto
Sharkbite Auto
Girl Scout Cookies Feminized (not auto. part of the free seeds sent to me by the single seed centre)

i've hung some heavy black-out curtains from my son's walk-in closet.
i've got a germination box that the seeded rapid rooter hangs out in.
i've got a cheap LED lamp from amazon hanging fairly high above the germination box and set to an 18/6 schedule.

the light doesn't give off much (if any) heat so i'm not worried about ventilation just yet especially since the seeds like warmth during germination. in fact, i've set up a heater in the closet (i don't have a heat pad) to maintain 78 degrees F. once the seeds pop and get transferred to their forever homes, i can open the curtains a bit and open the windows of the bedroom to get a nice breeze through.

rapid rooter was soaked briefly in warm, lightly-lemoned tap water and then i added a quarter inch of the same water to the germination box before closing it up.