PH Meters and other assorted grow questions

S

Stunted

Maybe a few silly questions but anyway...
Firstly I am fairly new to soil growing, pretty good at hydro (even mini hydro) however things have changed so I have to as well.

Can you use a "Soil PH" meter to test the PH of a liquid (E.G water)?
Currently I am using PH test drops to check my runoff which is not exactly very accurate.
I have a soil PH meter coming but will not be here for a week or so :(

My soil mix is:
75% potting mix (contains nutes)
25% perlite
with 2 tablespoons of Dolomite Lime per gallon added to the mix.

So far I have run this mix once before with reasonable results (bagseed), have some old (3+ years) bagseed in now and the plants seem to be coping ok. However small seedlings burn fast as this mix is at 1400PPM (tested runoff with EC meter).

So the question, should I attempt to lower the PPM of this mix or leave it and go with the flow?
I also believe there maybe a PH problem with this mix; currently I only water with tap water which I know has a PH of 8, the runoff has a PH of around 6 - 6.5
Should I be concerned about this / is it a PH problem?

I have some Sour60, Blue Streak (and Bubblicious (non-AF)) coming (well they better get here) so I would like to get things right before planting them :)

I grow in a cupboard which mind you is not complete but is slowly getting there, it consists of two grow compartments side by side that each have a floor area of 420mm x 445mm and 900mm of usable height. (16.5in x 17.5in x 34.4in)
Each side is currently running a total of 144w of CFL's (6 x 24w), I know it needs more but that's what I have to work with at the moment. The lights are height adjustable from bottom to top of the cupboard.

My current bagseed grow is in 1.25L soft drink containers with the tops cut off, but for the AF's I intend to use 135x150mm pots (2L capacity)
Please note that this will be my first AF grow ever.