Effect of Magnetic Field on Germination

Buz

Auto Warrior
Reaction score
20230625_095722.jpg
There have been numerous reports of positive effects of magnetic treatment of seed prior to planting (Sweet peppers, lemon balm, wheat). However, I could not find anything in the literature concerning cannabis. Sounded a bit like tinfoil hat stuff but it was easy enough to try. I have a current field trial with a local grower using sets of treated and untreated seed. I would like to share this photo that shows the marked difference between sets. The dry seed was placed in a chamber between two rare earth magnets for 56 hours and the control seed were kept a few feet away. Then both sets of seed were placed in the same 90mm glass petri plate containing a wet paper towel below and above the seed. The plate was then incubated for 48 hours at 78*F . The photo shows the difference between control group seed on the right and treated seed on the left. I am currently studying how long the seed needs to be in the magnetic field and for how long the differences between control and treated seed lasts. Pretty remarkable and I was pretty surprised. Has anybody heard or worked on this. BTW I am not a nut.

@DeanOnAuto - This sounds like it's right up your alley!

Neat stuff you're trying. How did you have the magnets arranged, just a N and S on opposite sides of the test chamber? Would be interesting to see what intensity is needed. Of course that's going to be a rabbit hole of physics isn't it? If it works with just regular fridge magnets you may be on to something more people could try.