Indoor DogterB's DIY Octopot Wannabe - Run #1

DogterB

Welcome to the CannaZone
Reaction score
Hello all! This is my first journal on AFN and I am really looking forward to this run. As always, comments, advice, and considerations are always appreciated as we are all constantly learning.

Okay, here we go. I've been growing for about a year and a half now and have only grown in soil. I got tired of all the nute mixing, pH'ing, and watering, and always seemed to never have enough time in the day. I have moved over to the organic soil side of things and have had some help from @pop22 in making some soil. This will be the first run with this mix. To mitigate hand-watering, I looked into many growing styles. I was very intrigued by the Octopots, but couldn't justify spending the money on them (I'm a broke med student). So I set out to make my own. Here's the jist:
2.jpg

I bought these tubs specifically due to their size, strong lids and build. I used a soldering iron to melt holes in the lids big enough for a net pot to fit into. These will serve as individual plant water reservoirs. The tubs are interconnected and all watered from a separate small bucket that has a float valve. This keeps the water level constant in every tub. The small watering bucket is fed via a 5 gal bucket outside the tent. I have a 6 pot setup in a 4x4 tent, but with the sizes of the tubs, I could pack up to 16 of these tubs in there if I ever wanted to give sea of green a go.
1.jpg

This is an older pic and not completely assembled, and I have since swapped in all fabric pots. I cut a hole in the bottom of all pots so that the net cup hangs through and into the tub. I did an experimental autos run with this setup and was surprised at the amount of roots that grew into the tubs. This really works out as a soil/hydro hybrid.